Fractured media: numerical methods for fluid flow and mechanics

Conference - May 17-20, 2022 - Politecnico di Torino
Department of Mathematical Sciences - MIUR Excellence Project 2018 - 2022



Computational methods for the simulation of complex physical processes in fractured media play a fundamental role in many applications including aquifer monitoring and protection, oil&gas enhanced recovery, and geological storage of pollutants. All these applications involve a number of coupled physical processes, occur in large scale complex geometries, are characterized by large uncertainty, and quite often require a reliable risk evaluation and prevention. The conference aims at presenting and discussing a number of issues recently raised about modeling and development of suitable numerical methods regarding:

  • Flow in fracture networks
  • Influence of roughness inside the fractures
  • Flow in fractured porous media
  • Up-scaling and homogenization
  • Coupled thermal, hydraulic and/or mechanical processes in fractured media
  • Fault reactivation and fracture deformation
  • Fracture propagation
  • Self-organization of fracture networks
  • Non-linearities (such as geochemistry, dissolution inside the fractures etc…)
  • Verification benchmarks
  • Uncertainty quantification/risk measurements
  • Artificial intelligence applied to fractured media, Graph-based methods, model reduction

We hope that the state of the pandemic will allow most people to attend in presence, but we are organizing the conference as a blended one, to help people attending.

Invited Speakers

Bernd Flemisch, Stuttgart Universitat
Luca Formaggia, Politecnico di Milano
Jeffrey De’Haven Hyman, Los Alamos National Laboratories
Romain Le Goc, Université de Rennes 1
Roland Masson, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis
Adriana Paluszny, Imperial College

Abstract Submission

Abstracts (3000 chars max) for oral presentations are accepted until March 13, 2022.

Submit your contribution

Conference registration

Confererce registration is now open until May 01, 2022.


Scientific Committee

Inga Berre, University of Bergen
Stefano Berrone, Politecnico di Torino
Mohammad Karimi-Fard, Stanford University
Benoit Noetinger, IFP Energies Nouvelles
Geraldine Pichot, INRIA Paris

Local Organizing Committee

Sandra Pieraccini, Politecnico di Torino
Stefano Scialò, Politecnico di Torino